“Yay” Flags How-to

23 Jun

My hopes for a sparkler entrance were dashed by daylight savings time.  Here in Georgia it doesn’t get dark until about 9pm.  Our entrance into the ceremony will happen around 8:15 or so, so it’s not the ideal time for sparklers.  I was stumped trying to find something to “replace” it with.  So, I found inspiration for my “yay” flags 

Just googled "yay" flags. Inspiration photo.

Here is how my flags came out: 

My "Yay" Flags!

How-To? 

Supplies
Tacky craft glue
Bamboo skewers
Wire cutters or strong scissors (used to cut off the pointy end of the skewer)
Avery perforated badges, product code 5932
About 1.5 hours of time for about 90 – 100 flags 

The Haps 

I printed the flags using Avery name badge inserts, product #5392.  I used their templates on their website, suing the Avery Design & Print Online.  With this program you can customize every aspect of the flag.  

 

Long bamboo skewers

The badges are perforated, so, I simply removed the excess, used bamboo skewers (cut off the pointy tops) and glued the flags onto the skewers.  Probably just a little under an 1/8 in. was folder over the stick.

I used differnt words like, “Hooray!” “Yippee! “Hip-Hip!”  and chose about 5 different background colors that would compliment our wedding color scheme.   Printing was a cinch too.

I think this is a fun way to enter our reception.  Please feel free to contact me if you have questions about the how-to!

2 Responses to ““Yay” Flags How-to”

  1. Amada September 9, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Thank you for posting your flags tutorial on your blog, all and all do you have an estimate of your total cost of this project? Thanks!

    • bbyckes September 9, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      Hi Amada! Thanks for stopping by!

      The cost for the whole project probably cost me about $2.00, because I had a lot of the materials already on hand. I had the labels, the color copier, the templates are free on http://www.avery.com, the sticks cost $1.69 and I already had the glue. It took me about 45 minutes to get the flags done once I got the hang of it.

      Please let me know if you have other questions, I’ll be happy to help!

      Capri

Leave a comment